In 1971, MCDA became the new name for the existing Minnesota Career Professional Organization. Prior to this date, the organization was named MVGA (MN Vocational Guidance Association). The following list of the organization’s past presidents was created by Dean DeGroot and Barb Krantz-Taylor in 1999 and is updated each year. Learn more about MCDA’s history and past award recipients by clicking below.

Years ServedPresidentEmployer
1971-1972 Martin DockmanMN Dept. of Economic Security
1972-1973Dr. Phillip HaberTwin Cities B’nai B’rith Career & Counseling Services
1973-1974Joseph HetahMinneapolis Public Schools
1974-1975Horace OlsonJackson Area Vocational Technical School
1975-1977Frank TekautzMN Dept. of Economic Security
1977-1978Roger RasmussenWilmar Area Vocational Technical Schoo
1978-1979Betty NeuwirthRobbinsdale Public Schools
1979-1980Dr. Richard ManleyPerkins Family Restaurants
1980-1981John PedeszewMedtronic, Inc.
1981-1982Steven FrantzMN Dept. of Education
1982-1983Dr. Sunny HansenUniversity of MN
1983-1984Phillip PennSt. Paul Public Schools
1984-1985Carol Weeks (Lowe)Macalester College
1985-1986Dr. Gary DonaldsonCenter for Counseling & Stress Management
1986-1987Cindy Schultz
1987-1988Bruce RosellePDI

Susan Reyelts
1989-1990Terri Teeson
1990-1991Marlys Dickmeyer
1991-1992Darleen Ellingsen
1992-1993Kevin NutterUniversity of MN
1993-1994John EckbergJohn Eckberg & Associates (Betty Olson & Associates)
1994-1995Rich MurraySt. Cloud State University
1995-1996Mark LarsonEmployers’ Association
1996-1997Jeanne BaileyAllina Health Systems
1997-1998Barb Krantz-TaylorUniversity of MN
1998-1999Dave BakerUniversity of St. Thomas
1999-2000 Carolyn HildebrandtHealth East
2000-2001Dean DeGrootInnerview Consulting
2001-2002Jean TollefsonPrivate Practice
2002-2003Kate SchaefersUniversity of MN
2003-2004Janet PeltoUniversity of MN
2004-2005Becky HallUniversity of MN
2005-2006Shelia Cunningham-McCombState of MN (DEED)
2006-2007Nancy FraaschOI Partners
2007-2008Nancy WhiteDakota County Technical College
2008-2009Paul TimminsUniversity of MN
2009-2010Irene RossmanCPI
2010-2011Carmen CroonquistAdler Graduate School
2011-2012Janet PribylUniversity of MN–Duluth
2012-2013Shelley Jensen-DeckerPrivate Practice
2013-2014Darren KaltvedUniversity of MN
2014-2015Jennifer RosandUniversity of MN
2015-2016Victor MassagliaUniversity of MN
2016-2017Kim MarroneRight Management
2017-2018Denise FeldeMinnesota State Colleges & Universities
2018-2019Gordon HelleStrategic Education Inc.
2019-2020Donna BennettDonna L. Bennett, LLC
2020-2021Sharon BalkeStrategic Education, Inc.